Conclusion about Peru

Friday 2nd October 2015

I spent a total of about 5 weeks in Peru, about a week around Cusco, visiting the Macchu Picchu, about a week in Lima if we add up the 4 times I stopped over there, about a week in the mountains next to Huaraz going on the Santa Cruz trek and a week next to Iquitos going to the jungle and a few days in Arequipa and the Colca Canyon.

My feeling about Peru is that it is an amazing place to explore, which has so much to offer, it has the sea side, it has
very high mountains, deep canyons and also the jungle. It is also really safe. It is more touristy than Colombia though, but still ok. The Peruvians are friendly, but I still find that in general, the Colombian people were warmer, friendlier and more welcoming.Saying that, 5 weeks is definitely not enough, and there were so many places I wish I had time to see or explore further in Peru!!

The sentence I keep saying in this “only” 6-month trip is “I wish I had more time!”

I wish I had more time so I could spend 2 months in Huaraz hiking everywhere, hiking more in the Cordillera Blanca, hiking
also in the Cordillera Negra and the Cordillera Huayash.
I wish I had more time so I could also go to the jungle near Terramotto and to the Manu National Park,
I wish I had more time so I could take the boat from Leticia to Iquitos and why not also to Pucallpa. I heard so many
crazy stories about this boat trip, it is not a fun enjoyable experience but rather a truly crazy adventure!
I wish I had more time so I could go to see the wildlife of Pescara (TO CONFIRM) next to Lima, the sand dunes of Ica, the mystical lines of Nascaq.
I wish I had more time so I could spend 10 days trekking in the Cotahuasi Canyon and 2 more weeks exploring the Colca Canyon.
I wish I had more time so I could spend 2 months around Cusco, go to the Sacred Valley, and do all those amazing treks around there.
I wish I had more time so I could see the Inca ruins of so many other places in Peru. One I wish I had time to go to was Kuelap in the North.
I just wish I had more time!!!!

So, a conclusion about Peru…I enjoyed visiting this country and I hope I will come back again one day to see a few more of those places I didn`t have time to see! Definitely go there!! If you only had a week and you like hiking…go to Huaraz first of all. This was definitely the highlight of my trip, we had an awesome group, I would even say the craziest group chemistry I have had in my entire trip so far, purely magical, and besides that, the scenery of the mountains was absolutely stunning. My second favourite is Macchu Picchu but that`s also because I saw it with Anouk, one of my best friend, and seeing an important site with someone you really care about is really awesome! My third favourite goes to the Arequipa canyon because of the stunning landscape, the depth of the canyon, and also because our Condors group was really great. My last one would be Iquitos because our first guide was crap and the jungle is so sticky and humid that as much as I was happy to see those crazy Amazon animals, get to realise that the tarantula is a really cute friendly spider and swim with pink dolphins, the jungle is simply not my favourite place!

And now…off to a mix of Chile and Bolivia!